PDF version-1.jpg

About /

Following the success of the inaugural Over-50s Cricket World Cup in Sydney in 2018, the tournament will take place in Cape Town from 11-24 March, 2020.


Eight national sides gathered in Sydney in mid-November 2018 with little idea of what to expect. What followed was three weeks of excellent cricket played on the most magnificent grounds in tremendous spirit. 


Matches were played with pink balls and were 45 overs a side. Each team played each other team, before the top four sides played off to reach the Cup Final, and the bottom four played for the Plate. Australia ended up winning the Cup in a gripping final against Pakistan.                          

The tournament in Cape Town will include four new teams - West Indies, India, Zimbabwe and Namibia - who join Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, England, Wales, Canada and hosts, South Africa. Matches will be played at club grounds across Cape Town, with the final taking place at the iconic Newlands Cricket Ground.

Entry to all the Pool Matches at the 2020 Over-50s World Cup will be free of charge.


The 2020 Over-50s Cricket World Cup has adopted the Boucher Legacy as the charity benefactor. Headed up by former South African cricketer Mark Boucher, it was founded in 2012 after Boucher retired from international cricket and turned his passion and commitment to wildlife conservation, in particular to preserving our endangered rhino population.


The South African Rhinos, which was the name given to the team which played in the 2018 tournament, donated R100 000 to the Boucher Legacy after the tournament.

CWC over 50.jpg
Match Schedule 1
Match Schedule 2
Match Schedule 3