top of page
  • Writer's pictureVCASA

Veterans Club Championship heads to Potchefstroom

The 2023 edition of the Veterans Club Championship will be played in Potchefstroom from 31 August to 3 September.

Bohemian Cricket Club from East London, Border, are the reigning Veterans Club Championship title holders. They beat Montrose Cricket Club from Cape Town, Western Province, in 2022's inaugural final.

Western Province will be represented by Claremont Cricket Club this year. Claremont Cricket Club beat Primrose Cricket Club in the final of the Western Province Veterans Cricket Association league earlier this year.

The tournament will feature several players selected for South Africa Over-40 or South Africa Over-40 Invitational, including King Cetshwayo District Cricket Club's Charl Groenewald and old Edwardians Cricket Club duo Warren Dugmore and Brandon Buckley.

Former first-class cricketers will compete in the tournament, including duo Andrew Pollock and Brad White - and former Proteas all-rounder Zander de Bruyn.

Veterans Club Championship teams

  1. Paarl Heat Cricket Club (Boland)

  2. Bohemian Cricket Club (Border)

  3. Northville Cricket Club (Eastern Province)

  4. King Cetshwayo District Cricket Club (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal)

  5. Old Edwardians Cricket Club (Gauteng)

  6. Midlands Cricket Club (KwaZulu-Natal Inland)

  7. Claremont Cricket Club (Western Province)

  8. Irene Retirement Villagers Cricket Club (Northerns)


bottom of page