Defending champions Australia name World Cup squad

Peter Solway
Peter Solway

Defending champions Australia will again be captained by Peter Solway, the world's premier over-50s batsman, at the 2020 World Cup in South Africa.

Eight other members of the 2018 squad have retained their spots. These include the world’s 12th-equal ranked players in Tony Clark and Steve Gollan, opener Gavin Brown (ranked 22nd), batsman Joe Santostefano (who averages 45.80 in O50Is), aggressive fast bowler Bill Blair, and all-rounder Darren Smith.

Tim Sargent is the only survivor from Australia’s first ever Over-50s side which toured England back in 2017. Only Sargent, Solway and wicket-keeper Todd O'Keefe had played for Australia prior to the 2018 World Cup.

Newcomers to watch include the three top wicket-takers at the recently completed Australian Over-50s Championships in Perth: Gary Eisenmenger (12 at 11 per wicket), Phil Melville (10 at 9 per wicket), and Nick Bole-Brown (9 at 8.89 per wicket).

Andrew Bethune led the run-scoring charts in the same tournament, scoring 146 runs for the champion Victorian side.

Australia's first match is against a Zimbabwe side full of ex-internationals on March 11.

Australian squad: Peter Solway (captain), Gavin Brown, Joe Santostefano, Andrew Bethune, Tony Clark, Bill Blair, Steve Gollan, Richard Saniga, Tim Sargent, Phil Melville, Alex Jesensek, Matt Lewis, Nick Bole-Brown, Gary Eisenmenger, Todd O’Keefe, Darren Smith.

By Jim Morrison