Montrose crowned WP VCASA champions!

Montrose Cricket Club are the new Western Province Veterans champions after a six-wicket win against Claremont in the final at Claremont Cricket Club on Sunday, 27 February.

Niaz Ahmed was the star with the ball for Montrose, claiming 4/15 in his allotted four overs to restrict their opponents to just 91. The chase wasn’t all that smooth, but Adi Jackson’s unbeaten 33 and a 30 from Mario Solomons saw them chase down Claremont’s score with nine deliveries to spare.

Montrose are the second winners of the Veterans Cricket of South Africa Association (VCASA), sponsored by Evergreen Lifestyle, following on from Pinelands’ success two years ago.

Primrose batsman Saleem Mukuddem finished as the league’s top scorer with 274 runs (average 55), achieved at a strike-rate of 127.

Luke Knipe of Green Point was the top bowler, with the left-arm seamer picking up 17 wickets in six matches.

Montrose will now represent the Western Province at the inaugural VCASA Club Champs in East London from 24-27 March.

Final 2021-22 positions

Montrose Cricket Club

Claremont Cricket Club

Victoria Cricket Club

Northern Knights Cricket Club

Fish Hoek Cricket Club

Rondebosch Cricket Club

Pinelands Cricket Club

Primrose Cricket Club

United Cricket Club

Cape Town Cricket Club

Green Point Cricket Club

St Augustines Cricket Club

Western Province Cricket Club

Hanover Park Cricket Club